Music Spotlight Women of Rock

Music Weekend | Spotlight Women of Rock

Home » Featured Post » Music Weekend | Spotlight Women of Rock

This weekends Spotlight was inspired by the cover version of Queens “We Will Rock You” that is featured on In This Moments’ new album “Mother”. The cover features vocals from 3 heavy hitter Women of Rock In This Moment singer Maria Brink, Halestorm’s Lzzy Hale, and Taylor Momsen from The Pretty Reckless. A spotlight on Women of Rock could go on forever as there are many many ladies that kick ass in music but to keep it relatively short I just wanted to share some of the work these ladies do.

Maria Brink – In This Moment

The band In This Moment has 7 albums in their discography beginning with the 2007 release of “Beautiful Tragedy”, The Dream (2008), A Star-Crossed Wasteland (2010), Blood (2012), Black Widow (2014), Ritual (2017), and their latest Mother (2020).

In This Moment is a 5 piece group that consists of lead singer Maria Brink, lead guitar Chris Howorth, bassist Travis Johnson, rhythm guitar Randy Weitzel, and drummer Kent Diimmel.

Here are a couple of my favourite In This Moment songs

Taylor Momsen – The Pretty Reckless

The Pretty Reckless is a 4 piece band fronted by Lead Singer Taylor Momsen with lead guitarist Ben Phillips, Drummer Jamie Perkins and, bassist Mark Damon. The |Pretty Reckless played their first show in New York in 2009.

Some may recognize Taylor Momsen from her role on Gossip Girl or as Cindy Lou Who in The Grinch Who Stole Christmas from 2000.

The band has 4 albums in their discography starting with Light Me Up (2010), Going To Hell (2014), Who You Selling For (2016) and, their latest Death by Rock and Roll (2020)

Lzzy Hale – Halestorm

Last and absolutely not least is my favourite singer of the 3 Lzzy Hale. Lzzy is a masterful vocalist with an amazing range and versatilty. She is the Lead Singer of the band Halestorm which she performs in with her brother Arejay Hale on drums, bassist Josh Smith and guitarist Joe Hottinger.

Halestorm has 4 studio albums starting with the self titled “Halestorm” in 2009, The Strange Case of (2012), Into The Wildlife (2015) and, Vicious (2018). Halestorm also has a live album and several EP’s including 3 releases of covers which are excellent in ReAnimate, ReAnimate 2.0 and, ReAnimate 3.0.